The Development of lithium-ion battery wins the chemistry Nobel Prize

us election news today

Scientists John B. Googenough, Akira Yoshino and M. Stanley Whittingham won the Nobel Prize for their chemistry work on the lithium-ion battery.


John B. Googenough from the University of Texas at Austin, Akira Yoshino from the Asahi Kasei Corporation in Tokyo and M. Stanley Whittingham from the Binghamton University in New York won the Nobel Prize for their contributions in developing the battery.


These lightweight, rechargeable batteries can power anything from electric cars to bicycles. As for the prize of 9 million Swedish kronor (approximately $900,000) will be divided among the three scientists equally. And, for records, Googenough at 97, is the oldest recipient ever to receive the Nobel Prize.

Sipra Chander (Hwwviral Staff)

Written by Sipra Chander (Hwwviral Staff)

Sipra Chander has 11 years experience in writing. Her niches include forex trading, personal finance, health, news, entertainment, real estate projects, mobile and automobile.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

breaking news usa

NASA creates history with first-ever all female-team spacewalk

Sports news

Is weight gain in college football players leading to heart problems